MightyMerchant

Event-Based Marketing: Key Dates For 2013

Image Event-Based Marketing: Key Dates For 2013

Event-based marketing means sending productive messages to a consumer that are centered around an event that is taking place in their life at the time. This could mean a special birthday discount or holiday-related promotional offer. The idea is that the message is relevant at the time it is received.

Knowing what noteworthy events are coming up and planning your email promotions based around those events could result in a higher than average return for you.

We have created the following calendar to help you plan ahead for big events taking place during 2013. We have included dates for major and minor holidays, sporting events, and other fun days that could become important retail dates for the year for your business. If a certain day that you want to celebrate doesn't exist, one of the most fun aspects of event-based marketing is that you can create it! Examples of this might include a "Founder's Day" celebration for your business.

Our calendar is presented in chronological order. Happy marketing!

JANUARY
Tuesday, January 1:New Year's Day
Sunday, January 20: Inauguration Day
Monday, January 21: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
 
FEBRUARY
Saturday, February 2: Groundhog Day
Sunday, February 3: Super Bowl XLVII, held in New Orleans, Louisiana
Sunday, February 10: Chinese New Year
Tuesday, February 12: Mardi Gras
Thursday, February 14: Valentine's Day
Monday, February 18: President's Day
Wednesday, February 22: George Washington's Birthday 
 
MARCH
Sunday, March 10: Daylight Savings Time Begins ("spring forward")
Sunday, March 17: St. Patrick's Day
Tuesday, March 19: 2013 NCAA (basketball) Division 1 Men's Tournament begins
Wednesday, March 23: 2013 NCAA (Basketball) Division 1 Women's Tournament begins
Wednesday, March 20: First Day of Spring (Vernal Equinox)
Tuesday, March 26: Passover
Sunday, March 31: Easter

APRIL
Monday, April 1: April Fool's Day
Thursday, April 11: Master's Tournament (golf) opens
Monday, April 15: Tax Day
Monday, April 22: Earth Day
Wednesday, April 24: Administrative Professionals' Day 
 
MAY
Wednesday, May 1: May Day
Wednesday, May 3: 2013 IIHF (Hockey) World Championship in Sweden and Finland begins
Sunday, May 5: Cinco de Mayo
Tuesday, May 7: Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12: Mother's Day
Saturday, May 18: Armed Forces Day
Monday, May 27: Memorial Day

JUNE
Thursday, June 14: Flag Day
Sunday, June 17: Father's Day
Wednesday, June 21: Summer Solstice
Monday, June 24: Wimbledon Championships (tennis) begins
Tuesday, June 25: Wimbledon Tournament begins
Saturday, June 29: Tour de France begins (100th Edition) 
 
JULY
Thursday, July 4: Independence Day
Tuesday, July 16: 2013 MLB (baseball) All-Star Game
 
AUGUST
Monday, August 26: US Open Grand Slam (tennis) begins
 
SEPTEMBER
Monday, September 2: Labor Day
Thursday, September 5: Rosh Hashanah begins
Friday, September 13: Friday the 13th (1 of 2 this year)
Saturday, September 14: Yom Kippur
Wednesday, September 18: FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, held in Tahiti 
Sunday, September 22: First Day of Autumn (Autumnal Equinox)
 
OCTOBER
Monday, October 14: Columbus Day
Wednesday, October 16: National Boss' Day
Thursday, October 31: Halloween
 
NOVEMBER
Sunday, November 3: Daylight Saving Time ends ("fall back")
Tuesday, November 5: Election Day
Monday, November 11: Veteran's Day
Thursday, November 21: Great American Smokeout
Wednesday, November 27: Hanukkah begins
Thursday, November 28: Thanksgiving
Friday, November 29: Black Friday

DECEMBER
Monday, December 2: Cyber Monday
Saturday, December 7: Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day
Wednesday, December 11:2013 FIFA Club World Cup (soccer) will be held in Morocco
Friday, December 13: Friday the 13th (2 of 2 this year)
National Free Shipping Day (Date to be determined; it is mid-December)
Saturday, December 21: Winter Solstice
Monday, December 23: Festivus
Wednesday, December 25: Christmas
Thursday, December 26: Kwanzaa
Tuesday, December 31: New Year's Eve



Need a Website?

Get a Quote

Latest News

Sign Up for
Marketing Bites
Take Your Website From Zero to Hero!
Let Us Know
How We Can Help!
MightyMerchant